Accessibility Links
Quick Send CV
Cookies on our website
By continuing to use this website we will assume you are happy to receive cookies as outlined in our cookie policy
Accept Policy

Following the publication of the shortlist for the Social Worker of the Year Awards 2014, we are delighted to see so many social workers and social work teams being celebrated for the important work that they do. 

We have been proud sponsors of the awards for five years now, and as well as providing financial backing through our headline sponsorship, we are actively involved in the running and organisation of the event. Our managing director, James Rook, is a Trustee of the Social Work Awards Ltd, the registered charity behind the awards - a role that he takes incredibly seriously. 

We are firm believers that social work should be recognised and celebrated for the hard working and inspirational profession that it is; these awards not only shine a spotlight on the sector for the right reasons, but they also reiterate the impact that hard working social workers are having on children and adults across the country. 

James Rook says: “I would like to congratulate all of those who have been nominated for a Social Worker of the Year Award this year. It is a spectacular achievement, and every year the standard of entries gets higher and higher. It is clear that there is some incredible social work practice taking place across the country and I do not envy the judging panel that had the incredibly difficult task of selecting the shortlist.

“I’m really looking forward to celebrating a night of great social work practice during the awards presentation in November and I wish everyone the very best of luck.”

The finalists for the 2014 Social Worker of the Year Awards are as follows:

Children’s Social Worker of the Year

Sarah McTaggart, Birmingham City Council
Angela Adams, Cafcass
Shruti Uppal, Southwark Council
Lesley Hardy, Cheshire West and Chester Adoption Team
Emma Peasgood, Kent County Council

Adult Social Worker of the Year

Jeanette Jackson, Derbyshire County Council
Heather Fuller, Focus Independent Adult Social Work
Suzie Holmes, CLIC Sargent
Chris Atherton, London Borough of Haringey
Amanda Jones, Birmingham City Council
Joanne Lowe, Birmingham City Council

Newly Qualified Children’s Social Worker of the Year

Julian Wild, Southwark Council
Jenny Cragg, Stoke-on-Trent City Council
Theresa Olivero, Southampton City Council
Elise Houston, Newcastle City Council
Amy Sibun, Norfolk County Council
Zahraa Adam, Essex County Council

Newly Qualified Adult Social Worker of the Year

Jamie Stone, Hertfordshire County Council
Rebecca Jackson, Focus Independent Adult Social Work
Katie Wynne, Hertfordshire County Council

Practice Teacher of the Year

Eleni Prodromou, Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
Angela Meidel, East Sussex County Council
Helen Guizani, Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council
Dave Thomas, Central Bedfordshire Council

Student Social Worker of the Year

Lindsey Wanless, University of Nottingham
Clare Moggeridge, The Open University
Anneka Wright, Manchester Metropolitan University
Shanti Boafor, Kingston University and St George’s University of London

Principal Social Worker of the Year

Margaret Barrett, Gateshead Council
Anne Cullen, Princess Alice Hospice

Mental Health Social Worker of the Year

Linda Ram, Partnerships in Care
Wendy Whitaker, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust

Team of the Year – Children’s Services

Behaviour Resource Service, Southampton City Council
Children’s Social Care Duty Team, Nottingham City Council
Operational Management Team, Cafcass
Achieving for Children Referral and Assessment Team, London Borough of Richmond

Team of the Year – Adult Services

Young Adults Team, Worcestershire County Council
North East Derbyshire Community Social Work Team, Derbyshire County Council
Calderdale End of Life Social Work Team, Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council

Team Leader of the Year – Children’s Services

Heidi Crampton, Cafcass
David Green, Wokingham Borough Council

Team Leader of the Year – Adult Services

Jill Moorman Thurrock Council
Julia Hughes, Birmingham City Council
Sara Topham, Derbyshire County Council

Creative & Innovative Social Work Practice

Diane Palmer, Veterans First - The North Essex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
Sarah Holden, Southampton City Council
Hertfordshire Community Learning Disability Service,
Hertfordshire County Council
Children’s Social Care Team, North Yorkshire County Council
SSAFA Family Support Group, SSAFA

Best Social Work Employer of the Year

Children’s Social Care Service, Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council
Children’s Social Care Team, 
North Yorkshire County Council
Family Operations Leadership Team, Essex County Council

Lifetime Achievement Award

Joy Jannetta ,Buckinghamshire County Council
Ariela Reed ,Birmingham City Council
Maureen Carson
Jeanne Kaniuk, Coram 

The winners of the Social Worker of the Year Awards will be unveiled on Friday, 28th November at the Lancaster London hotel. 

For more information on the awards visit 
Email a friend

Meet the Events Manager

Add new comment